Olympus Entertainment - Celebrating 10 Years! [$2k+ GIVEAWAY] ×
Special Promotion [FREE OLYMPUS+] ×

Building a new pc, need advice!

I've been saving up to build my own PC for a while now and I just got a new job. So I'm gonna be building very soon! I have been searching around the internet and decided to use PC part picker too choose some parts I like. Keep in mind, I've never built a PC before. So it would be great if I could get some helpful tips and advice from you guys. This is what I've come up with so far. Let me know what you think. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/LfJr23 . Like am I missing anything important?? Does everything go well together?? The price at 1600 is good for me, I don't think i would want to spend more than that! Thank you!!

If you're going skylake then you should really take advantage of DDR4 RAM.

The list is slightly pricier due to the MOBO and RAM, but it's honestly well worth it. Higher RAM speed helps in ArmA more so than other games because ArmA is CPU based and RAM is basically responsible for feeding information to your CPU. DDR4 is not necessarily faster but imagine DDR3 being a 2 lane highway and DDR4 being a 4 lane highway. Cars (Memory) can travel at the same speed but a 4 lane highway delivers twice the bandwidth, if you will. It's not an exact comparison but you get the idea.

Try this instead: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/v8WhnQ

It's a hundred bucks more but when you're going skylake then you really don't want to compromise on RAM. That's a huge selling point. Otherwise you should just go with the i7-4790k and save some cash.

6 minutes ago, McDili said:

If you're going skylake then you should really take advantage of DDR4 RAM.